Patron Saint of Messy Desks

I HAVE A CONFESSION TO MAKE:   My desk is a mess. 

It’s sad…  I know that “God is order,” and that, “cleanliness is next to Godliness.”  But try as I might, my desk remains a mess.  That’s just the way I operate best, maintaining a few piles of stuff to be done, and a bunch of different works in progress.

This, of course, drives most people – well, Sisters – insane!

A few years ago, I read a book about St. Maximillian Kolbe.  It was a great book and his life was interesting.  I loved his deep faith, which he exhibited by making very daring moves.  I loved how his extreme sanctity was like a magnet for other devoted men.  But I loved one thing most about him.  I’ll just share a picture:

St. Maximillian Kolbe at his desk.

St. Maximillian Kolbe at his desk.

After seeing this, I was pretty sure we would have gotten along!
Have a great day and don’t worry too much about a messy desk!

I'm a Salesian Sister - a Daughter of Mary Help of Christians. I've given my life to Christ for the young and the poor. My work lately has been vocation work, and this has given me the opportunity to meet some very generous and admirable young people.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Salesian
3 comments on “Patron Saint of Messy Desks
  1. Irene says:

    Good for you, Sister! We “messy desk” people know where everything is . . . and it proves we work hard. LOL Keep it up!

  2. pussnboots3 says:

    Not sure I would have gotten along with St. Maximillian. However, he is a SAINT and I am still ‘cleaning’ away.

  3. Sister Rose Therese says:

    I have to show this to my superior. There are a couple of us at the convent who suffer from the messy desk syndrome. We like to say that we organize chronologically. The newer stuff is on the top.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,530 other followers

